The Indiana Society of Chicago created an educational foundation in 1997 to address a real need for students and families facing escalating college costs. As part of our research, we learned that scholarship awards tend to be front-end loaded — granted to incoming freshmen at fixed amounts. We were also reminded that unforeseen expenses often occur later in the college experience, as financial wherewithal may well lessen.

So, in response to this need, we carved out an award niche in providing scholarships to Chicago area men and women entering their junior year at the Indiana college or university recognized at our Annual Dinner. The school itself selects student recipients based on its criteria for achievement and financial need.

Generous contributions from Society members have allowed for multiple $3500 -$5000 scholarships to be awarded each year.

Response to the scholarship awards — from students, schools, and Indiana Society of Chicago members alike — has been very enthusiastic. It has been a gratifying experience for all of us.

Recent Scholarship Recipients

Marcus Knotts,  Purdue University

Sarah Beth, Hadley Franklin College

Erika White, Indiana University
Arian Boayed, Indiana University

Amanda Wilson, Taylor University
Jessica Franklin, Indiana University-Kokomo

David Schwarz, I.U.P.U.I.
Patricia Bennett I.U.P.U.I.

Indiana National Guard Relief Fund

Barbara Gasior, Ball State University
Stephen Poweska, Ball State University

Amanda Bartman, Valparaiso University
Susan Chan, Valparaiso University
Derek Leatzow, Valparaiso University

Keith Mack, Purdue University
Jimmy Tsao, Purdue University
Alaina Will, Purdue University

Stephen Garber, University of Indianapolis
Jennifer King, I.U.P.U.I.
Sarah Perez, Butler University

Rachel Peyton, Indiana University-Bloomington
Michelle Williams, I.U.P.U.I.

Jason Grogg, Ivy Tech
Scott Jones, Ivy Tech
Katelyn Kulczyk, Purdue
Matthew Schueler, Notre Dame

Nasreen Akhtar, Ivy Tech
Ilah Ball, Ivy Tech
Jessica Ballinger, Ivy Tech
Shawn Hampton, Ivy Tech
Melissa Mitchell, Ivy Tech

Jason Brondos, Indiana State University
Robert Colucci, Indiana State University
Kim Johnson, Indiana State University
Sarah Pemberton, Indiana State University
Laura Stechmiller, Indiana State University

Albena Benjamin, DePauw University
Kathleen Mollow, DePauw University
Vladimir Stankov, DePauw University
Sandy Tran, DePauw University

Erin Martin, Purdue University – College of Veterinary Medicine
Megan McGlothin, Purdue University – College of Veterinary Medicine
Rachel Heintz, Purdue University – College of Veterinary Medicine
Erin Nonos, Purdue University – College of Veterinary Medicine

Indianapolis Public Schools via Children’s Museum of Indianapolis

Gabriela Aguilar, University of Southern Indiana
Cesar Alba, University of Southern Indiana
Melanie Belarmino, University of Southern Indiana
Lindsey Hansen, University of Southern Indiana

Indiana’s Public Universities:

Indiana University Foundation
Indiana State University Foundation
USI Foundation
Purdue Foundation
VU Foundation
Ball State University Foundation
Ivy Tech Foundation

Carson Bailey, Hanover College
Samed Begic, Hanover College
Leah Faber, Hanover College
Jessica Vassallo, Hanover College

Alexis Brammer, Ball State University
Ava Ochoa, Ball State University
Rachel Turner, Ball State University
Christopher Zurish, Ball State University

Rhea Lu Fi Benson, Indiana University
Andre Guadron, Indiana University
Arielle Pare, Indiana University
Jonathan Telahun, Indiana University

Seizing an exciting opportunity, the Indiana Society of Chicago commissioned a painting in the promotional poster-art series, a combined effort by the South Shore Railroad and numerous Northwest Indiana businesses, under the auspices of the Northwest Indiana Forum. This painting, by noted artist and Indiana Society of Chicago member, Mitchell Markovitz, uniquely depicts our world-famous skyline towering above Lake Michigan as viewed from the shores of Hammond, Indiana. Poster reprints are available for purchase by members and collectors alike. Most importantly, all proceeds from the sale of these poster reprints are directed to the Society’s Scholarship Foundation.

Purchase a Print

Make a Donation to the Scholarship Fund

Join us in increasing our capability to truly make a positive difference in the lives of our deserving Hoosier students and families. The Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization, qualified as a charitable organization for income tax purposes. All donations are tax deductible.